Mission:Control http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com Embrace Your Future ... NOW! Fri, 05 Apr 2013 18:09:34 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.5.9 Corralling Your Evidence http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2013/corralling-your-evidence/ Fri, 05 Apr 2013 18:08:54 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=293 This article appeared in the April 5, 2013 edition of the Austin Chronicle, written by Jordan Smith, and talks about SB 1439, sponsored by Senator Royce West, relating to Evidence Tech Certifications and consolidating evidence statutes. Here is the link to the full story:

http://www.austinchronicle.com/news/2013-04-05/corralling-the-evidence/ www.austinchronicle.com

]]>
Where’s Your Evidence? http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2013/wheres-your-evidence/ Sat, 16 Feb 2013 12:17:24 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=280 This article appeared in the Austin Chronicle on February 15, 2013, reported by Jordan Smith. It discusses issues evidence rooms are experiencing and have experienced for years relating to DNA evidence, i.e. lack of storage, lack of standardized procedures, accountability.

http://www.austinchronicle.com/news/2013-02-15/wheres-your-evidence/

]]>
DNA for the Defense Bar http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2012/dna-for-the-defense-bar/ Sun, 28 Oct 2012 16:17:45 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=260 DNA for Defense Bar

This is a must-have manual for defense counsels. It tells you everything, and more, about DNA. Feel free to download the manual, at no cost.

]]>
DNA Collection, Storage and Disposition http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2012/dna-collection-storage-and-disposition/ Thu, 06 Sep 2012 19:24:33 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=244 Chapter 38.43 of the Tx Criminal Code of Procedure is under revision. Specifically, we (state committee) are more clearly defining “biological evidence”, revising statute of limitations for biological evidence, and providing “best practices” for collection, storage and disposition. And for counties of less than 100,000, biological evidence associated with unsolved felony cases (not pending trial) can be stored at Department of Public Safety, as well as post-conviction biological evidence. I will post the new revisions once they are approved (expected date of January 2013).

]]>
Positive Thinking http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2012/positive-thinking/ Tue, 03 Jan 2012 20:18:21 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=222

If you constantly think of illness, you eventually become ill; if you believe yourself to be beautiful, you become so.
– Shakti Gawain

]]>
Best Leaders http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2011/best-leaders/ Mon, 05 Dec 2011 13:47:18 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=198

As for the best leaders, the people do not notice their existence. The next best, the people honour and praise. The next, the people fear, and the next the people hate. When the best leader’s work is done, the people say, ‘we did it ourselves!’- Lao-Tzu

 

]]>
I’ve got to follow… http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2011/ive-got-to-follow/ Sun, 20 Nov 2011 13:09:20 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=191

I’ve got to follow them – I am their leader.
– Alexandre Ledru-Rollin

]]>
Know Your Employees http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2011/know-your-employees/ Wed, 09 Nov 2011 11:30:32 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=185

Can’t determine how to motivate your employees? Begin by getting to know them. You’ll be amazed at what you can learn and what makes them “tick”!  ~ John Vasquez

]]>
Saying Thank You http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2011/saying-thank-you/ Wed, 26 Oct 2011 10:37:44 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=181

Count to 3… then out loud, say “THANK YOU”! Did that hurt? Did you experience any pain from that exercise? If yes, begin a daily regimen of 10 “THANK YOU’s” at home. When you get to the office, acknowledge the good work of an employee.
~ John Vasquez

]]>
Test of a Leader http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/2011/test-of-a-leader/ Fri, 21 Oct 2011 11:03:20 +0000 http://www.missioncontrolconsult.com/?p=151

The final test of a leader is that he leaves behind in other men the conviction and the will to carry on.

]]>